Artwork by Rhek (Sharks and Hammers)

Turntable Lab

1. Shottas f/ Mr. Lexx
2. Shottas f/ Mr. Lexx (club edit)
3. Tomma Essa Porra
4. Murda Sound
5. Hope
6. Madre, No Llores

Munchi, a young Dominican producer living in Rotterdam, Netherlands, makes his debut on T&A Records with “Murda Sound.” The EP displays Munchi’s full arsenal of weapons, from the agro electro-dancehall of “Shottas” featuring Mr. Lexx (of Major Lazer “Hold the Line” fame) to the beautiful ambient dubstep of “Madre No Llores.” “Toma Essa Porra” is somewhere between Baltimore Club, Baile Funk and Dutch House, with screaming car alarm synths, African funk horns and raucous shouting. Keeping it rowdy, Murda Sound shares Bmore and Dutch elements, along with a Dubstep bass and Reggae vocal drops. Rounding out the EP is Hope, a deep Moombahton track with haunting chords and a chilling female vocal.

Munchi is working on a remix EP and an album for T&A, so expect a whole lot more in the near future!



Best of Munchi Mix by Dirty South Joe (right click “save target as”)


In the spring of 2010, an unknown kid from the Netherlands named Munchi sent Dave Nada a handful of Moombahton tracks, which he passed around to his friends. Since then, Munchi has gone from being a few DJs’ best kept secret to a highly sought-after producer. He’s been cranking out monthly promo EPs all year, and when Tittsworth and I reached out to him about doing an EP on T&A, he sent us everything from Baltimore Club, Kuduro, Baile Funk and Cumbia to House, Breakcore and deep Dubstep. But genre labels do Munchi a disservice, as every track combines elements from different styles and influences. A Dominican kid living in Rotterdam, he has been making reggaeton with Dutch influences since way before Dave coined Moombahton, and all sorts of weird sh*t before “Tropical” became a blanket term for the global bass movement. Simply put, he’s our favorite new producer and his tracks are f*cking insane. Dirty South Joe agrees, so he whipped up a live mix of Munchi favorites, including a bunch of tracks off Munchi’sMurda Sound EP (out now!) and as-yet untitled album coming on T&A this winter.  Tracklist after the jump.

1. Hope
2. Esta Noche
3. Metele Bellaco
4. Pun Ain’t Dead
5. Pepe Volvio
6. Bassanova – Chickenlover (Munchi Likes Em Fried Moombahton Rmx)
7. Mu-Gen – Fizzdom (Munchi Moombahton Rmx)
8. Datsik – Firepower (Munchi Moombahcore Rmx)
9. Shottas (Mix Edit)
10. Deja Tu Vaina Mujer
11. El Gallo
12. Coracao Apaixonado
13. Mojito Montagem
14. Forbidden Fantasy
15. Madre, No Llores
16. Times Change VIP
17. Baltimore Soul
18. Chasin Sky & Sand
19. Toma Essa Porra
20. Baltimore Dub
21. Tenga Una Punto 40
22. Salgueiro O Calderao
23. One Night Stand
24. El Mangu
25. Bota Dedim Pro Alto
26. Murda Sound
27. Sebastian – H.A.L. (Munchi Bootleg Kuduro-More Rmx)
28. Steve Starks – Git Em (Munchi’s Kuduro Rmx)


Munchi’s Youtube Channel
Munchi’s Soundcloud
Munchi’s Blog

November 10th, 2010Categories: T&A Records